Stenciling and cold water fear

Standard

Michelles new Crusade is stenciling. Well, I was still busy carving stamps *GRIN*. Besides, I would LOVE to have a stenciling burner, but that’s not available here in Holland. And it has to be appropiate for European standards (I’ve found one, but the costs of the shipping are higher than the whole burner ;-(( And cutting into plastic… It did not attract me (like a nail scratching on a black board, that feelin’).

But on iHanna’s site I saw you could make a stencil cutting into paper too. OFF COURSE!! ThanX Hanna, for reminding me! That suits me better. So I started. Made a tree and a small heart. Just forgot to make a solid ground for the tree, so he lost his feet as a stencil (you can see them in the mask)…

Actually, I use stencils a lot, so making your own IS TEMPTING!

Because of the missing feet, I used the mask for this card. Sprayed it with glimmermist.

Also made an ATC with the stencil. (Guess I am into birds and trees lately). And carved an arrow (for me this speedy ball works better than the other one (white). Easier to make more details in the stamp.

Okay, that was a good start for me. Because of the curling of the paper (not so handy for a stencil ;-)) thought i could TRY a plastic sheet. A good sharp knife makes half the work. And it felt less uncomfortable cutting it than I thought it would be).

If you look well, you can see the spray paint is still wet, HAHA.

Okay that was it for stenciling (and home made stamps). This weekend I attended a show in Holland were Judi from Judikins was demoing. She brayered a glossy paper with mica magic and did stamping in it, whilst moving it just a little bit on the paper (push the stamp with power on the paper and then move for 2mm or so). Gives great effect. Unfortunatly the micamagic was not available anymore in the colors I wanted.

At home I gave it a try with acrylic paints. I used bronze (Reeves) and quinacrodon red and turquois (golden). Looks great, doesn’t it?

Lesson of this all: you can always try to work with what’s on hands. But too: working with another material can give different results.

20 responses »

  1. Hediwg – thanks for sharing your adventures in stencil cutting and more with carving stamps! Glad you found some plastic to try – in the end a better material don’t you think? Love that last sample you made too – terrific color and texture!!!!

  2. These are great ! I love the tree ! It has a sweet/naughty look to it ! And you are so right about using what we have already on hand to try new things ! Sometimes you even find a “better” way !!!
    Take care,
    Kim

  3. Yes, I am definitely doing a stencil without a burner, because my allowance is on hold! But I’m really looking forward to trying to make something cool like the ones you have here.

  4. The sequins and stars on the top of the tree branches are so cute. And that sample at the bottom of your post is stunning. I love the Judikins products, I buy BIG bottles of Diamond Glaze…

  5. Dag Hedwig, ik zit hier weer met ingehouden adem jouw kunstwerken te bewonderen. Wat zijn ze weer fantastisch. Leuk dat je nu naast stempels ook stencils maakt. Leuk hartje, met dat krulletje, en wat een lieve boom (kan een boom lief zijn?). Maar als ik dan zie wat je er ook nog mee tevoorschijn getoverd hebt, dan kan ik alleen zeggen dat ik echt een portie durf extra nodig heb en dat ik nog heel veel kan leren en uitproberen (heel erg leuk natuurlijk!!). Dankjewel voor het showen!

  6. Pingback: Roses and a stencil burner « Belle2create

  7. It looks like you have had fun creating and playing with stencils, and it is good to see others are still addicted to stamp carving too. That last piece is just beautiful, I love the colours.

Leave a Reply

