Gratefull & Paying it forward

Standard

Michelle Ward’s crusade of this month is about gratitude.

It is about being gratefull & paying it forward. Ok, let’s start with gratefull. I am gratefull for my family: my two beautifull daughters and my husband.This collage I made of the wonderfull holiday we spent in Florida to visit Disney World. Do I need to say we had a MARVELOUS time??

I am gratefull to have friends and neighbours. To share laughs and tears, to give and to recieve help. Some of those friends I met via blogs and yahoogroups, and we share a passion for mixed media, arts, crafting. Age nor background counts, it is that passion that binds us. (Richard, my husband, sometimes asks me: what does she do for a living, how old is she? I sometimes just don’t know and it is not because I am not interested, but it is of no relevancy). I am really gratefull for all those friends and neighbours. They make my life, our life fuller, more complete. THANX!!!

I am gratefull too for being born in a pretty rich country, having enough money to live a good live for me and my family. And being healthy, all of us, is something I thank God  often for. To live in a lovely house in a green and quiet neighbourhood, to have plenty of food and to be able to take the kids to foreign countries (and no, America we don’t do every year, we had a lot of award miles because Richard travels much for work). Did I already mention we had two adorable cats that we love so much?? They are called Ziggy (the white one) and Zara (the striped one).

Aren’t they cute?

I am aware I have so much to be gratefull for. I try to forward it to others. I absolutely do not think I can save the earth or humanity. Small acts of kindness are my thing. Sending cards to a sick friend, or to somebody that is in pain. Cooking a meal for friends when mum and the newborn are in hospital and dad and the three other kids are at home. Talking to my elderly neighbour about the life she lived (do that more often: it gives you such insight how the world has changed). I share art material with friends. I call somebody from church if I have some furniture overstock or something else that can be usefull for the refugees that attend our church. Cleaning my other friend’s home when her newborn had to stay in the hospital with a dangerous infection.

I hope you know I am not telling this to be arrogant. I hope you see how easy and small it can be. Everybody can make a difference.

YOU CAN DO IT TOO!!!

12 responses »

  1. En ik spreek uit ervaring dat het waar is wat jij schrijft !!
    Kijk alleen maar naar wat ik vandaag mocht ontvangen van jou , maar vooral ook de vriendschap die ik voel via jouw mailtjes is van grote waarde voor mij !
    Hedwig je bent een echte schat !!

  2. hedwig – i agree with you about how special it is to meet people online. i really believe we find the people we are meant to find, whether online, on the street (or on the street team!) with the small amount of contact we’ve had i know that YOU would be someone i would want to meet if i was in your neck of the woods, or you were in mine. AND that i could count on you for anything. pretty amazing that someone could think and feel those things just because of a relationship built on comments. thanks for plugging in again this month. xo

  3. Hedwig, wonderful post. I have been so very fortunate to have met in person so many people that I had met online. I also agree with Michelle in that some people we are just destined to meet. I treasure the friendships I have made online!

  4. I too am so grateful to have been born in a wealthy country. My heart aches for those who were so less fortunate, who didn’t chose to live in a country where fresh water and veggies are rare. Every time I wash my dishes, I think about the water running and how lucky I am. Showing kindness in as simple a gesture as a smile and a twinkle in an eye, and sharing a laugh, especially with a stranger, can pay forward a lightness of being that will impact more than we can ever know. Thanks for sharing the love, Hedwig.

  5. Hedwig,

    I love the collage you made – what a great way to remember the times you had on that vacation. Thanks for your comments on my blog – isn’t this crusade a great idea?

    Anne

  6. Wonderful post Hedwig! I agree with you… small acts of kindness are so appreciated and they always come back to you in surprising ways… it’s much nicer for me to give than receive. I love to see people smile!

  7. omg…what a beautiful basket of kitty kats!!! They are so beautiful…and their sweet sweet faces………ahhhhh such a great foto. I just found your blog….wonderful postings and thoughts….I will visit more often

Leave a Reply

